Unachievable goals: Why we all need them

Life’s a chore; Life’s a bore.

In the midst of doing something tedious, I’m sure most of us had on of those “Why the heck am I doing this?” moments. In that instant, we are lost and wonder what is our motivation for doing the task at hand. Heck, our minds drifts further off and decide to extend that scrutinising lens onto our lives. What is driving me to wake up every morning? What am I living, or not dying, for?

We hit a mini existentialist crisis as we recognise the lack of a self-constructed purpose. The multitude of explanations may vary. We could be living a life we had never properly thought through. We could be living a life that our parents’ wished for us. We could be living a life that we had no courage to break out of. The absence of a personal motivation to carry on is glaring. Strange as it sounds, this is where I believe unachievable goals come into play.

Let me ask you this, does the journey or the attainment of a goal bring more satisfaction? The answer was evident to me a few years back. It had always been my dream to win a championship when I first picked up basketball. To say that this had been my greatest goal thus far would not be an understatement. Six years of chasing this elusive dream and my team had done it. But what ensued was not a lasting feeling of that initial euphoria, but rather a sudden void.

Initially, I was sad and I did not know why. No answers could offer any solace. Left defeated, my mind drifted as I started to reminisce about those days. Peculiarly, I realised that the times when my teammates and I suffered the most were actually my fondest memories. Then, it hit me. The chase of it all was much more gratifying than finally attaining it. Isn’t it always more rewarding when we struggle harder to achieve something?

If each of us have our own personal unachievable goals, we will always be on this struggle to achieve it. This not only becomes our oasis for motivation, but an additional source of happiness as each progress in the process inevitably brings joy. And soon, we might even forget that the state of perfection can never be achieved.

But then again, as Einstein said,

Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.

So go forth and find that unachievable goal you need in your life.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

